News & Events

2014

Sea Launch Resumes EUTELSAT 3B Launch Operations


Nyon, Switzerland, 1 May, 2014 – Following suspension on 31 March of the launch campaign activities of the EUTELSAT 3B satellite, Sea Launch today announced that its prime contractor, Energia Logistics, Ltd., will this week restart testing in preparation for the rollout of the Payload Unit and its integration with the Zenit-3SL launch vehicle before departing to the launch site in mid-May.
 
The launch of the EUTELSAT 3B satellite is now scheduled for 26 May at 14:10 Pacific Daylight Time (21:10 UTC, 23:10 CEST) at the opening of a 54-minute launch window.

Based on the Eurostar E3000 platform of Airbus Defence and Space, the EUTELSAT 3B satellite has been designed to operate three commercial payloads in the C, Ku and Ka bands. This tri-band configuration will deliver exceptional levels of in-orbit flexibility and coverage from Eutelsat’s expanding 3° East neighourhood. The satellite will enable Eutelsat to diversify its commercial response to Internet Service Providers, telcos, government agencies and broadcasters operating in Latin America, Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Central Asia. EUTELSAT 3B has a designed in-orbit lifetime exceeding 15 years.

 
 
Instagram
 
© COPYRIGHT 2013-2015 SEA LAUNCH SA. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.